Cartoons and Comics

The first comic site that I used to create my comic strip was Toondoo. You had to register to use the site, but that was pretty simple to do. Once I actually registered and began, things got a little bit more complicated. The website looks like it was created by someone that wanted to show you everything at once. After adjusting my eyes to deal with the mess of the website, I finally found the link that let me create my toon. Creating the toon was a simple enough experience. All the instructions are pretty clear. But when it came to actually SAVING my toon, I couldn’t find where to save it. And once I did find out where to save it, I didn’t know where it had been saved under “Toons” or “Completoons.” Well, my logic was that my toon was completed, so it had to be under “Completoons.” I was wrong. Overall, the actual creation of the comic was simple, everything else was not.
King George

The next site I used was Pixton. Now this is how a site should look. Simple to navigate and use. It even came with a useful tutorial to guide me in creating my first comic strip. Once I saved my comic, it was easy to find where it was. All I had to do was click on  my home page, and there it was. Other sites can take note from this. This was the best easiest site to use.

//www.pixton.com/schools/embed/m87hx061

The last website that I used was MakeBeliefsComic. This site gets bonus points for not having to register to create a comic strip. Everything on the site was pretty straightforward. Although my options were limited when it came to creating characters and their gestures, it was simple to follow. Easy site to use, but there just isn’t much available, but students should be able to use it.

makebeliefscomix

In the article “25 WAYS TO USE MAKEBELIEFSCOMIX.COM IN THE CLASSROOM,” we learn of some pretty awesome ways to use comics in the classroom. A few that really stood out for me was to use it to learn vocabulary words. In social studies, we have a lot of vocabulary words, and using comics in the classroom for vocabulary will help students learn these words.  I also think that it is good practice for my English Language Learners. Visuals really help these students learn academic words, and using actual comic strips will make the experience fun and engaging.

The app Tellagami was a fun app to create a 30 second video. Users can create their avatar and record their voice to it. If you were able to record just a bit longer, I can see me using this as a way to present projects or book talks.
https://tellagami.com/gami/D4CNz7/embed/

 

MakeBeliefsComix.com, B. B. (n.d.). How to Play with MakeBeliefsComix.com. Retrieved November 02, 2016, from http://www.makebeliefscomix.com/How-to-Play/Educators/
3 thoughts on “Cartoons and Comics”

  1. I too had difficulty navigating through ToonDoo and enjoyed Pixton a whole lot more!! Zimmerman’s resources as well as his lessons were pretty awesome! Good job on your comic strips!

    Like

  2. I liked your Tellagami video. I was unable to create one 😦 We used to have an ipad but never used it so we sold it. I think it would be great to use as an attention getter in the beginning of a lesson. The students would really enjoy that.

    Like

  3. I also thought ToonDoo was a really busy website and had a hard time saving and retrieving my comic. I really enjoyed reading your comics, nice job! I agree with you comics are a good way to teach vocabulary in a fun engaging way. Great job on your Tellagami! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

